My Story
Goals: Run, Run, Run!! (I think about it every day. Every day!) - 10K (at least 3 this year) - 1/2 marathon (outside of practice) - St. George Marathon (Ran a 4:24 it in 2004. Want to do it under 4 hours this time) - Boston Marathon (My life long running dream besides the Olympics.)
Tuesday, November 10, 2009
Surgery
November 10, 2009
I had to have surgery and haven't been able to run. I expect to be able to run by the beginning of the year, according to the Dr. The surgery will make it easier for me to run without stomach problems. (104)
I'll be back!
Down to 114 lbs. 6 lbs lower than I should be and 12 lbs lower than I was a month ago. I think I lost all of my muscle!
Friday, September 18, 2009
day 7
August 30 - September 18, 2009
OK, so LIFE! Things have been crazy to say the least. I'll just give the low down.
I have been running from 2-5 miles a day. I've been running about 9:50-10:00 minute miles, until last week. I started running 7:30 - 8:00 miles!! I don't know what happened but I like it.
I haven't been running everyday. Maybe the rest between has helped.
I ran a 16 min 2 miles
I ran a 26 min 3 miles
I ran a 15:04 min 2 miles
Today I ran "slowly" and ran a 31 min 3 miles! I took my dog and had to stop and get her some water.
Needless to say I have been improving my times. Shorter, faster then longer, faster. Seems to be working.
Yesterday I ran right after I walked the kids to school. There were women with strollers everywhere! I mean everywhere! It was like I was in a race and passing everyone! It was cool, even though they were all walking. I think it improved my time. Of course, I felt weird. Here's me running as fast as I can and women walking with strollers. Oh well, it was a great run.
I have been running after taking the kids to school because it is too dark at 6:30 am. It is too hot at 9:00, but better than running in the dark.
I only have 5 lbs left to be at my ideal weight. I have to have surgery in the middle of October. We'll see how far behind that puts me.
Saturday, August 29, 2009
Day 76
NONE
Today I am really feeling the affects from yesterdays eating binge. My stomach is NOT happy with me! (96)
Day 75
No run. Got up late.
:(
Oh well, I figured I would take the entire day off. I made two different kinds of cookies and ate most of them. They were SOOO good! I haven't had cookies for a while.
Today I saw that I have gained 1lb back. You would think this would have kept me from eating cookies, but NO! I really need to eat better. I really want to loose these, now 9lbs!
Day 74
3 miles 27 minutes
I felt pretty good. I thought I was running faster, but wasn't sure until I got done. I think instead of trying to pump up my miles everyday I'll try to lower my times. Then I can do both time and distance everyday.
Today I saw the same kids lined up for the bus. I felt really stupid. I was going to try to run earlier but it was too dark. I'll have to start running later, maybe even after I get the kids off to school. That cuts into MY time, but I guess running is MY time. It may be hot though. It's the only way!
Day 73
3 miles 30 min.
I didn't realize I was running 3 miles. It worked out fine though, after I realized it didn't take me 30 min to run 2 miles.
Today I saw kids lined up for the school bus. 3 different "gaggles." They didn't say hi even though I knew most of them. They just looked at me with a strange look on their faces.
Day 72
1 mile (monday morning mile) New thing.
15 min.
Tired, but that is what Monday's are about right? Getting up and going after a day of rest and eating.
Today I saw kids getting ready to get on the bus for school. I'm sure they wondered what an old woman was doing out running.
Day 70
Can't remember. Getting to the journal late! I did run though. I think about 2 miles.
Saturday, August 22, 2009
Saturday, August 8, 2009
Day 56
4 miles - 40 min
It was really windy today. Very windy! I'm not possitive that I actually ran 4 miles. I probably was a little less since I changed my route a little.
When I first got outside it was a little dark and looked like it might rain. That didn't bother me. It's been a few days since I have been out and really needed to run. (Family problems have put a fire under my butt.) I didn't even see any birds until about the 1 mile mark. Then they were everywhere. The were flying in packs. Not very much chirpping though. I felt that was a good sign. Anyway, I don't know if I will ever get over that bird attack. It really freaked me out!
I saw a group of 3 runners. I changed my route so I wouldn't have to run by them. There is a competitiveness in me that can tire me out. Today I didn't feel like catching up to them and trying to stay ahead. At every turn I was closer and just didn't want to deal with it.
Today I saw more blown down or broken trees and tons of trash. Birds! (86)
Friday, August 7, 2009
Day 55
1/2 mile - 13.28 min
I am very weak. I had to walk the entire way. I think I need to go to the Doctor. Maybe I have an infection or something.
Today I saw trash, a broken tree, things in trees, stuff all over the place. There was a bad wind storm last night. I had forgotten until I went for my walk. (85)
Thursday, August 6, 2009
Day 54
0
I decided to stay in bed this morning. I'm not feeling well. Maybe tomorrow I will feel better, not so weak.
Today I saw....(83)
Wednesday, August 5, 2009
Day 53
10 min
I am sooooo tired. Not tired as in I need to sleep. Tired as in my body is tired. I feel like I weigh 200 lbs. I've been feeling this way a lot lately. There has to be a way to move past this.
Today I saw a lady walking two dogs. I see her everymorning from my kitchen window. She is training them and they seem pretty good. She walked past me withing touching distance. She looked right at me. I said "Good Morning." She stared at me and kept walking. Not even a smile. (I know she isn't deaf.) I hope her day gets better. (80)
Tuesday, August 4, 2009
Day 52
3 mil +/- - 35 min.
Can you say tired! Those hills yesterday really burned me out. I had to walk today. By the time I got home I felt like I was going to throw up! I was sweating like crazy!
My father always told me to run until you can't run anymore and then run farther. The next time do the same and then you will be really fast and run really long. There have been several days over the last week that I have done that. We'll see if it works out.
Only 10 more pounds to loose! Good by the first 10...look out you last 10!! :)
Today I saw a man doing a sprint workout, a man jogging, a woman jogging, a girl jogging, and those same two girls who never look or smile or say hello. It's getting tiring to see them. I actually ran/walked a different way to avoid them today. I also saw several communiters. They said hello to me and they were in suits! I don't know why that seemed nice to me but it did. (79)
Monday, August 3, 2009
Day 51
about 3+ miles - ?? min
My watch broke on Saturday. I have to get a new one to know how fast. I do know that I ran hard and don't think I could have run much harder. I was gone from home about 45 minutes.
OK. So there are these two girls I see almost every morning. They never say hello. I thought it was because I was usually on the other side of the road or passing them. Today I could smell their perfume (yep that's right...blaugh!) and they still didn't say hello. I felt like I should stop them and say, "Do you have a problem with me or are you blind." LOL!
I ran up as long of hills as I could find today. After I ran a long hill I went down it and ran it again. My leg didn't hurt, for which I am very grateful. Anyway, whenever I run down hill I always hold back. (Did I say this already?) Today was especially hard to run down hill. I actually walked part of the way back down. Working on uphills is very important. Working on down hills is too, or doing the uphill quickly is lost on the way down.
There were a lot of runners and cars out today. First there was a woman running and a man on a bike "together." (slacker man, haha) Then the two "non-communicative" girls, a man with an Army shirt, and a man that looks like John Macenrow (sp?) who I have seen before.
When I am out running I have very interesting, I think anyway, thoughts about things around me and life in general. Maybe sometime I'll take my handheld tape recorder and record some of my thoughts. Should be fun. It would be a very long entry. Other runners around me would think I'm crazy. Should be fun! hahaha!
Today I saw birds everywhere! They were traveling in packs today. One of the hills was full of them. The trees were full of them. They didn't get close but were being very loud. I'm worried about getting attacked but also getting pooped on! (77)
Sunday, August 2, 2009
Day 50
Day of Rest
I had Chinese food on Friday night and a bar-b-que last night. I have also had a lot of junk over the last two days. I really need to buckle down. I have lost 8lbs and need to loose another 12 to be at my ideal weight. Need to work much, much harder this week! Still pleased with my run on Saturday! (75)
Saturday, August 1, 2009
Day 49
4 mil - 37 min
I'm always holding back. I'm so afraid I won't be able to finish the run without walking. Why that's a fear I don't know. I do know that even in track it held me back from my potential. So, in effort to run faster and farther I ran as fast as I could today. Even from the beginning, which I usually don't do. I did have to walk in the end, but wow was that first 3.5 miles awesome!
The first 3 miles were 27 min! The first 3.5 were 31 min! I walked the last .5 miles and I still ran the entire 4 miles faster than Thursday by 3 min! My mile markers aren't exact because I don't have a garmin and I have to drive to find out the milage. (I know that the total milage is correct.) But they are really close and that is awesome! What a great run!!
I felt really strong at the beginning and just knew that I was running faster. There was no question. Then at the 3 mile mark I thought I was going to die. I almost went home without finishing the full 4 miles. I think that would have been a mistake.
I was planning to run 5 miles, but that last mile hurt so bad I ditched. For the first time ever, I feel like I ran as hard as I could. Having nothing left over was hard though. It also made me realize that I can run faster. I just need to push myself.
I only saw 1 car today. Weird! There were only 2 runners too. Where is everyone? I know it's Saturday, but... Maybe they were all running in races. I wish I had been. That is a pretty good time, 27 mins, for a 5k when you are old like me. I bet I could have run faster if I had been in a race.
Today I saw knats going into my face. (I think I got one in my mouth. BLAUGH!) A huge beetle (the size of my thumb.) A spider that seemed not to care at all that I was comming. And a watch that told me that I was running way faster than I usually do by 45 seconds per mile! (74)
Friday, July 31, 2009
Day 48
? ?
You know in Runner's World and other places when they show runners running in a field in the sunrise? It looks so peaceful, so serine. Well, that picture is either doctored or there was some serious changes made on the path.
I decided today that I wanted to do a trail run. My son told me about one that they go bike riding on. I thought it would be a nice break from running around the neighborhood on the streets. Well, it was adventuress and different.
I was attacked by grasshoppers. Who know what else was in the tall grass? There was a very steep part into a ravine that I almost had to slide down. It strained my hamstrings in both legs trying to get down. Why I didn't turn around after those obstacles I do not know. When I got to the top of the hill (from the ravine) it was so pretty! I was surrounded by fields, I could see the sunrise...Whatever! The trail went two ways. I took the one that looked most traveled on. But as I kept running the trail got smaller and smaller. Then I started seeing what looked like snake holes on the path.
Needless to say I turned around, skidded down the ravine, crawled up the other side and ran back to the road. When I got there the sprinklers were on so I went around them. There were bike ramps in the way so I ran around them. I tried to get back on the road and sprained my ankle!!! I should have stayed in bed!!!
Tomorrow I'm going to try to run out on the highway, if my ankle allows it. I have got to get my miles and speed up. I don't want to be stuck in this position forever. Having a coach about now would be awesome! Not much of a chance for that.
Today I saw a beautiful sunrise ruined by bugs, hills, water, and bike ramps. At least I had my Runner's World moment. I think that was worth it. I should have had a camera. (67)
Thursday, July 30, 2009
Day 47
4 miles - 43 min.
Who am I writting to? I was thinking that when I started this I was writting it for myself. I would like others to read it and give their feed back. But, how do I address myself and others who may come across this? Just wondering. Do I say "Today you saw..." instead of Today I saw...?"
I was worried that my hamstring would cause problems so I started out really slow. Then I realized that running slow was actually harder than running a little faster. But I'm still not even close to where I want to be in speed. At least I could run today!
I ran a different route and wasn't sure how far I had run so I went for a drive after. I was pleased and surprised that I had run that far. Especially when I saw that I had been running 43 minutes. I have to get under 9 min miles! I'm obsessed!
For some reason I see more women out running than men. Today I saw 6 women running and 2 men. Where are they all? Are they in the gym or something? I know there are men who run, but they must feel too threated by running with all of the women in the neighborhood. haha
New shoes and some new running cloths are a must! I have lost 7 lbs! Only12 lbs to go to my goal weight! Yea!!
Today I saw the trash truck. It was like running with a child. One that runs fast then slows down then runs fast... It was kinda funny. I also saw a gardening glove in the weirdest place. It either blew there or someone must have thrown it out their car window. I'm going to have my son clean the roads for his eagle scout project. There is so much trash out there! (65)
Wednesday, July 29, 2009
Day 46
Hamstring still hurts. I'm keeping it wrapped and taking Ibuprofen. Maybe tomorrow I'll try a walk. Tried today and it was painful. Not as painful as yesterday. Yea!
Today I saw the clock at 7:15 instead of 5:45! (51)
Tuesday, July 28, 2009
Day 45
??
Took the dog with me. Can you say stupid? Everytime I take her I get hurt. I was going for a lazy run today and thought, what the heck, I'll take her.
BIG MISTAKE! About 1 minute into the run she pulled on me and it pulled my hamstring! It hurts!
I don't know how long it will take before I can get back on the road again. The sooner the better!
Today I saw my dog stopping to pee on a tree and her getting tangled in the leash. (49 all me)
Monday, July 27, 2009
Day 44
3 miles - 30.43 min.
I felt strong today. I don't really know why my time was so high. I though for sure it would be better that that. Remember! I want to run 8 min. miles on my regular runs! I don't know how to do that yet. I'm still running mostly uphill and that is killing me. I am going to try this:
Monday: Long hard run
Tuesday: Long easy run
Wednesday: Speed training
Thursday: Hills
Friday: Long hard run
Saturday: Long, long run
Depending on time, weather, and how I feel I'm going to try it. I really want to bring my time down. Especially before the 5K on August 18th. I wish my HS running partner was here to run with. She would keep me running faster and keep me company.
I risked my life today and ran down Harvest Moon "Bird Attack Street" today. There were several other runners there so I felt a little safer. But I still was a little freaked out. I never realized how many birds live in our neighborhood.
Today I saw a lot of runners/walkers. It is comforting to see other people out there. 1 penny. (39)
Day 42
? - ?
SICK! I tried to run and was actually gone for about 45 minutes. But, I was so sick I had to walk the second half of the run. Then came home and was sick the rest of the day.
Today I saw...
Friday, July 24, 2009
Day 41
? mil ? min
I am so tired. I don't know how far I ran. I ran up and down streets and paths to see what options were out there for some new routes. About half way I had to start walking. I'm having stomach cramps and I think I'm coming down with something. I hope it doesn't last very long.
I'm still freaked out about the bird thing. And the rabbit thing. Every time I hear something I get all nervous. I might even start funning faster if I keep being so paranoid. It is hard to run outside with the fear of animals I have. Something has to be done!
I have gone from 138.9 to 132.8. My goal is 118-120. If I had been eating well I would have lost more weight. I will eat better. It makes you feel better when you eat better. It's just so hard when there is not much for me to eat. Everything here is mainly for the kids. When they are home for the summer especially we keep a lot of "fast" type foods.
Today I saw horse poop! It was on the path and several places on the road. YUCK! There were some birds, but they didn't really come very close. Grasshoppers everywhere. Maybe that is why there are so many birds. (37)
Day 40
Yard Work
I AM SOOOO SORE!! I didn't sleep well either. So, I didn't run. I wish I had. Instead I did 2 hours of yard work.
Today I saw a lot of weeds!
Wednesday, July 22, 2009
Day 39
Sprint workout
House to Wilsons .25
.25
.24
.25
Wilsons to curve .
42
.42
.45
Trellis to curve
1.14
1.18
Small circle (1/2?) 2.28
Can you say HARD!!! I ran as hard as I could. I know I am going to be sore all day and especially tomorrow. But it will make me faster. I don't know how far these runs are. I have a friend that runs at the track every morning with her kids. She has inspired me to do more than just run distance every day. Also, I have another friend that runs 8 to 8.5 min miles while training. I will get to that!
Today I saw a lot of runners. Some were walking, some were jogging, and some were running. I passed some of them and some were running toward me. I hope they didn't think I was crazy. I almost felt like stopping and telling them, "I'm not trying to show you off, I'm just trying to sprint today. That brings us back to what are runners thinking while they are running? (34)
Day 38
3 miles - 30.47
Everyone must remember that all of my runs start with a bit uphill. No matter which way I run the first 3/4 of a mile is uphill. Thus, the slower times. I wonder what I could run on flat ground. But, I don't like to get out of my element if possible. I used to really like the sound of birds in the morning. It seemed peaceful. Not anymore!! Today there were a lot of birds. I'm not exaggerating. There were a lot of birds. They were everywhere. There were all different kinds too. Some cute and quiet, some big and loud. But there was no attacking today. I ran without a ponytail.
Today I saw another runner. I slowed down to ask her about the birds. She said she had seen a lot of birds in the same place and that they were aggressive, but they didn't attack her.
Monday, July 20, 2009
Day 37
Weights
I decided that I really need to do some weight training while running. This should help with speed and strength. It will definately help with the motabilism.
Today I saw my daughter playing on my computer while I was lifting.
Saturday, July 18, 2009
Day 35

3 miles (5K) 30.02 min.
Today was the run for Britney. She has Lukemia. She is only 25 years old. She was married in December and found out she was sick in May. Somehow she made it to the race after going through 48 hours of chemo. I don't know her personally, but I know she has a lot of wonderful friends who love her very much. From what they say about her you can love her too.
The race started at 8:30 a.m. It was HOT!! All the way all I kept thinking about is how hot it was and how I didn't think I would make it. Not such good thinking when you are trying to race.
The girl who won ran under 22 min!! And, she ran to the race. She is amazing!
There weren't any numbers, no places, no t-shirt. Just a great morning for a great cause. I don't know how I placed, and it doesn't matter. It was a good day. Even though I am so tired I can't even move.
Today I saw a young woman will a terrible illness and a very strong spirit and her friends. Ran with Sarah Barnes and Kim Coleman.
Friday, July 17, 2009
Day 34
??? sprint!!!
Today I was ATTACKED by a bird!!! No Kidding!! I really was! It scared me and freaked me out. I'm glad it didn't have any friends with it. It was a big bird (not a crow) and it kept flying by my head and sometimes around it. I think it was trying to catch my ponytail. If I had put my hand up, even while ducking, I would have been able to hit it. The sound it was making scared me too.
I am totally freaked out!!!! Again an animal has scared me from running. Needless to say I "ran all the way home." Here is a link to see the bird that attacked me.
http://chicagoist.com/2008/06/21/jerk_bird_attacking_people.php
Today I saw a BIRD!!!!! close up!!!! still shaking!!!!
Thursday, July 16, 2009
Day 33
1 mile - 9.15 min.
I didn't have much time so I ran a mile as fast as I could. I think I could have run faster, but I didn't want to burn out. There we go again with my holding back. Would it be better to run faster with the possibility of dropping out or keep running at a "safe" speed? I should try it on a day when it doesn't matter and when I have plenty of time.
Today I saw several runners and my neighbor, who is a police officer.
Day 32
3 miles - 49.12
I ALMOST DIED!!! I was so weak and tired I had to walk a huge part of the run. I wonder if it had to do with the junk food I ate the night before or if it was because it was so late in the morning. It was hot too.
Today I saw trash, several other runners, and the hot sun.
Tuesday, July 14, 2009
Day 30
3 miles - 32.11 min.
There was a head wind more than 1/2 way. It was really, really strong. I almost walked. By the time I got to the top of the hill I felt better. I am very glad I didn't stop and that I pushed through the entire 3 miles. I really need to start running more miles. The only problem is that I would have to get up at 5:45 and that may kill me. :) Also, it was cold. I ran with a sweat shirt on the entire way.
I think running with a partner would be really hard for me right now. I have come to realize that running with a partner would hold one of us back. FE: The runners I saw today...one of them had a cramp. If I had been running with someone with a cramp I would feel bad leaving them behind, but wouldn't want to stop either. On the other hand if I was the one with the cramp I would want my partner to go on without me.
Also, speed would be an issue. What if one of you is really tired. I have only had 1 running partner that I felt comfortable running with. We had the same speed and the same respect for the other in regards to speed and all of the other factors that come with a good run.
Today I saw 3 runners in front of me going up the hill. I almost caught up to them. A Red Bull can (what is that anyway?) and a smashed hot chocolate cup.
Day 27
2 miles - 19.?? min.
I'm entering this a little late and can't remember anything about the run. oops
Today I saw...well, I can't remember.
Day 26
3 miles - 32.?? min.
I felt good. Didn't have any problems. Nothing to report.
Today I saw no one.
Friday, July 10, 2009
Day 25
4 mil - 39.06 min. (2 mile split - 19.10)
I was tired at first but then felt better as I ran.
There were not many people out today. It was cold at first and then it got warmer. I ran the same 2 mile run twice. Uneventful.
I did notice that I run with my right had in almost a fist and my left hand with my thumb up. Weird that I never noticed that before.
Yesterday I read an article in the Deseret News with the top 10 things you shouldn't do when you run. RUDE! I was shocked to see that an article like that was written. In my opion it discourages non-professional runners to even try to compete in any run. You should not run if: You like to talk with a friend, need to drink, have body odor, run back after you finished to find a friend, stop during the race, run at your own pace, have a cell phone, wear somthing other don't like, or do anything else that may bother other runners. (http://www.active.com/running/Articles/10_Running_Rules_to_Remember.htm)
In other words, the people who wrote this article think they should be the only runners out there. NOT!!! EVERY ONE should exercise however, whenever and in whatever they want.
Today I saw two women walking dogs and one woman running.
day 24
July 9, 2009
Left the house to run, but didn't feel well so I went home. The plan was to do some cross training at the pool later in the afternoon. However, my husband asked me out on a date and I didn't have time. I would rather go out with my husband than swim anyway.
Today I saw two of our towels that had blown across the park. I picked them up and dragged them home. They were soaking wet.
Day 23
3 miles - 32.?? min.
I felt pretty good.
I ran a different route today to add another mile. 1/2 mile of the run is by a field. While running down the road by the field I heard something. I looked over but didn't see anything. Then I heard it again. I looked over and saw something big and white. I looked over again and it was moving. (I think it was a jack rabbit. A SCARRY one!)
Needless to say I ran the 1/4 mile back up the road faster than I have run anywhere in a long time. When I got to the top of the road I thought I had left it behind, but when I heard something again I ran even faster around the corner into the residential area.
I won't be running down that road again unless I have a partner or my dog.
Today I saw lots of trash along the road where I saw the physco bit white animal that was chasing me.
Day 22
Way too tired to get up, much less go for a run. Eliptical in the afternoon maybe. Trying to catch up on sleep. I really think I over did things the last few weeks. But, I am doing a 5K next Saturday to help raise money for a friends sister who has cancer. I need to be ready for that if I can. So, I rested today.
Today I saw the back of my eyelids.
Day 21
2 miles - 18.50 min.
I ran too late in the morning. It was really hot. I can't believe I even made it 2 miles!
I wonder what other runners think when they run. I'm curious to know what they think about where they are running, what they are wearing, when they are running, whom they are running with or wish they were running with, what they think about cars when they pass, what they think about comming up behind someone who is slower and then how they feel if they pass them, what it feels like to be passed...etc.
Personally, when I see someone running it makes my heart beat a little faster. No matter how fast or far, it brings me happiness. Weird? No. If I am running I get excited for both of us. If I am not running I feel envy beyond belief.
One thing that makes me laugh is that whenever I see another runner you can't tell what kind of runner they are by what they are wearing. I have been to many a race where there are people with fancy running outfits, shoes, i-pods, hats, etc. But I have yet to see one of those people win. I wonder if they wear those things and run just so they can say they ran or if they are really runners who just aren't fast, or if they just like looking like that. Another thing to ponder eh?
Speaking of, I really do need new shoes. The ones I am wearing are from 2005 before I ran my marathon. If only I had $120.00 laying around. :)
Today I saw the same guy on the way up and then on the way back. I wonder if he has asthma or something? He was really puffin'.
day 19
2 miles - 20.29 min.
I was just wondering about the time of day. I usually run at 6:00 in the morning. Today I ran at 8:00. Could that make a difference in the speed and feel of the run?
I was TIRED!I was supposed to do the Riverton Days 10K today. After just running 2 miles I know I couldn't have made it 6. As much as I hate to admit it, I think I have pushed myself too hard. I'm not sure what to do about that really. Keep running what I have been running and not move it up or slow down a little. We'll see what happens.
Slow and steady wins the race is the saying. However, I think that the hare just had a big head. He could have won by a long way, but instead figured he was ahead so he could rest. Personally, I want to the be hare without the ego. I like going fast and far. I just wish my body could keep up.
Today I saw more thunder clouds, the hot sun and only 1 runner. She sounded like she was crying or having an asthma attack. Either way I hope she is OK.
day 18
2.5 miles - 27.21 min.
Felt good. A little weak and tired from not runnig since Monday. But very happy to be "on the road again."
There were black clouds surrounding me as I ran. But, with my mosquito bites still a little ichy and having not run for 4 days I refused to let them get me down. If I get rained on fine. It didn't. It was a beautiful day to run!
Just wondering. You can tell if you are a walker or speed walker. How do you tell if you are a jogger or a runner?
Today I saw thunder storm clouds and a friend.
Day 17
Mosquito bites on my ankles make me sad. (To the tune of "Sunshine on My Shoulder")
"On the road again. Just can't wait to get on the road again." (See the bottom left side for the entire song lyrics. One of my favorite! I love Willie Nelson!)
Today I saw WII Yoga and Strength training, without socks.
Day 16
July 1, 2009
Didn't run. I got mosquito bites all over my ankles. I can't even put on flip flops. We'll see how tomorrow goes.
Today I saw the WII. :)
Day 15
1 mile - 11.? min
Out for a slower run. Plan on running 5 tomorrow to see if the 10k on Saturday is possible.
Today I saw the Stake President walking. He looked deep in thought.
day 14
2.5 miles - 27.13 min.
I felt pretty good. I had a cramp about the 2 mile mark, but worked through it.
I'm not sure if I am ready for a 10K this weekend. I'm going to try 5 miles on Wed. to feel it out.
Today I saw a few friends out running. Nothing interesting really.
day 12
4 miles - 50.?? min.
I thought I would die. I hadn't checked how far the run was before I started and thought after the run that it had to be at least 5 miles. Nope, 4 miles.
Today I saw someone's chinese take out all over the ground, and birds everywhere. It was like being in the movie. It was scarry.
day 11
2.5 miles - 33.24 min
TIRED! TIRED! TIRED! I walked some of the way.
I just ran whatever I decided as I got out of bed, not knowing what I would actually feel like or what to expect. Next week I need to have a plan.
Monday - 2 miles
Tuesday - 1 mile
Wednesday - 4 miles
Thursday - 2 miles
Friday - 1 mile
Saturday - 5 miles
I have a 10k comming up in two weeks. If I want to be ready I need to pick up the miles, but not over do it.
Today I saw storm clouds coming, two walkers I passed, and the ground as I tried not to fall over. (smile)
day 10
June 25, 2009
2.5 miles - 29.38 min.
I felt really good and know I could have done another 1/2 mile.
I tried a new route today. I thought it would be at least 3 miles, but I was wrong. (It has been known to happen.) The route was uphill. When I say uphill, I mean uphill. It was a hard but enjoyable run. I will do it again sometime. In the mean time, I need to drive some more routes and find other places to run.
It's weird. I'm getting faster and feel wonderful. It's like my body remembers how I should be running and is just doing it. I think about running all of the time. (Did I menion that before?) Maybe it has made an actual physical change or something. Whatever it is, I love it! I love that I can run and not feel so weak. Saturday I might try a 4-5 miler.
While I am running there is also a running comentary in my mind. I wish I could write every thing that goes on in there. It is when I think the clearest and enjoy the run the most. It is when I run the fastest too. It would be really nice to have a running partner sometimes too though.
Today I saw ALOT of runners and walkers. I think my usual route must not be on the "beaten path." hehehe
Day 8
June 23, 2009
2 miles - 23.34 (1 mile split - 10.55!!!)
I felt good the entire run. Tired the second mile, but a good tired.
Today I saw a couple I know walking toward me who said a cheery hello, two girls running cross in front of me (They were running in complete sinc,) paint on the sidewalk I saw yesterday that I thought said RIP actually said RMP, and after that it said Gas with an arrow (funny,) trash including the can which I will go pick up in a few minutes, the same couple I know on the other side of the circle, a bird eating a worm and alot of potato bugs. On the second mile I was behind a couple of girls walking. Do I pass? Do I not pass? Well I had to pass didn't I? So I said hello (only one said hello back, the other was talking about gymnastics) and hoped I could run fast enough to say ahead of them. I did. :)
Day 7
June 22, 2009
2 miles - 27.26 (1 mile split 11.46)
I thought I was going to die! I never thought I would see the day when a 2 mile run would feel so hard. The wind was blowing right in my face the entire uphill, which is 1/2 of the run. Then on the other side it blew so hard to my left I almost fell over.
The good news? The first mile was 11.46. I'm not sure how that happened. I hope I keep getting better times. This must be a fluke. I saw my shadow and it looked like I wasn't even moving. Yes...I am using the same, reliable stop watch and running the same route. We'll see how the rest of the week goes.
The truth...I drove the route again on Saturday and found out that I had been running 1.2 miles instead of 1. So, I started running the 1 mile today. There you have it, my confession and probably the reason my time is a little, ok, a lot faster than last week. However...I did run the same route every day and the same distance every day last week and my times dropped each day.
Today, I ran the 1 mile twice. I'm not sure how much of a difference the 1.2 mile route would have made. Either way, 11.46 mile after not running for 4 years is pretty good, I think. (Reminder, the last time I ran up until last week was in July 2006.)
Today I saw a mom and son walking (they said good morning), a Sprite can (maybe I should go pick it up), a little boy on a scooter, two guys walking with basket ball’s and bragging about their game, and on the second time around only...writing on the sidewalk that said RIP with an arrow pointing down the hill I just came from.
Day 5
June 20, 2009
1 mile - 13:30!!!! Wow!
And I felt terrible. I ate an entire bag of Circus Peanuts yesterday instead of lunch. I think I may have done better if I had eaten good things.
I LOST 2 LBS this week!!! Only 18 more.I pushed really hard on the uphills and relaxed on the down hills. I was going to walk another mile after the first, but was too tired. I feel good about the effort and over all run.
It was cloudy today and very humid.
Today I saw a lady walking up the road beside me, a lady from my ward, who said hi, but didn't recognize me, a man and woman running in front of me, a smashed Top Stop cup and straw, a newspaper (several pieces), a 2 liter spirit bottle, 2 smashed spirit cans (one from yesterday?), the running couple running toward me (the same that were ahead of me, they are fast), a few swarms of ants eeewww!, and a baby wipe eeeeewwwww!!!! And I felt my legs hurting! YES!
Day 4
June 19, 2009
1 mile - 14.2 min.
It felt pretty good. I almost felt like a runner there for about a second. It was a great feeling. Next week I start running 2 miles a day.I feel like I am holding back though. Thinking back today about all of the races/runs I have done I realize that I am afraid I won't be able to finish if I run too hard before the end.
Whenever I hear my shoe scrape on the pavement I am afraid I will fall. The pavement is really uneven and I have to watch my feet the entire time I am running. (See my story.) I have always watched my feet. It helps me concentrate.The first 10K I ran, I didn't know how far it was, I didn't know anyone around me, I was afraid of getting lost so I ran with the first person who looked like they knew where they were going, and I just wanted it to be over. I was a wimp when I was 15, everyone who knows me will agree.
I could go through a list of what ifs, but I won't waste my energy. Instead, I will write about today's run.
Yesterday I wrote that it is educate to say hello, good morning or hi to other runners. Well, today I think I broke that rule. There were some girls coming toward me that had stopped. They were on the other side of the street. When I got right up to them, if you could say that, and they started running. The sun was in my eyes and I didn't realize the sin I had committed until I was a few steps behind them. Should I turn around and yell? No, I was barely walking/running as it was.
Back when I could actually run, I would think of the song "Foot Loose" to keep my rhythm. I can't run with an I-pod unless I am in a race because I am afraid I won't hear a car coming. (Once again afraid.) Anyway, today I was thinking of "Ode to Joy." I guess I need to pick up the pace.
If you look up my name like this: "sheila+binggeli" on Google you will come up with about 60 hits. There is another girl in TX that has my name. (Weird) But, you will find some of my races and the times. It's pretty cool actually.Half way through my run there is an uphill that is maybe 300 meters long. When I was running before I never realized how steep it is. It is HUGE. Well, not really, only when you are weak and feeble. :) LOL
Today I saw a smashed Sprite can. (I ran too early for commuters.)
Day 3
June 18, 2009
1 mile - 15.38 min.
Today is my Grandda's funeral. It was a great day for an 8 mile run, but I could only run 1. I wrote about him on our family blog. http://www.binggelifamily.blogspot.com/
It was a great day for an 8 mile run, but I could only run a mile. Today I felt better and tried my runners stride." It felt good. I am afraid of injury so I don't know if I will ever run as fast as I have in the past. I hope I can run faster than 2004 though. What a great year that was.
I was thinking....isn't it runner's edicate to say hello when you pass a fellow runner? Going either towards or passing? I know in track you said track if you were behind someone who you were "lapping."
Today I saw two girls running the other way on a different street. They had on runners shorts and shirts. They looked really good and fast. The commuter was getting on the bus and a car was driving really fast toward the bus honking. I saw a dead fly.
Day 2
I AM SORE, IT IS GREAT!
Whenever I run I get stomach pains and spend some time in the bathroom. It doesn't happend all of the time, but when it does it is painful and inconvient, of course.
I spent a lot of time yesterday reading in the lou and then again this morning. So, I did the eliptical today. It's o.k. because I can read while I exercise, but I really like being outside in the fresh air. I love it when I can actually smell track in the air.
I ate pretty well yesterday until my husband brought home Lindt chocolate. I will do better today as my children are helping to eat the chocolate, without my knowing of course, so there soon won't be any left.
My stomach pains will keep me eating better today. Toast sounds good.
Today I saw a book, the wall, and an exercise screen.
Day 1
1 mile 22 min.
Today was my first run in a long, long time. (See the story below.) It was good. I ran 1 mile in 22 minutes! Cool? Well, considering I could run it in just over 5 minutes in High School, I could have done better.
Yes, I am older, whatever, but I know I can do better. I ran a 52 min. 10K a few years ago, so I know I can at least go faster than 22 minutes. Oh, the shame, the shame!
This afternoon I am sore, tired, and forcing myself not to eat junk food. I saw myself on a video my husband made last week and when I think of that I am repelled from chocolate. Imagine that!?!
The weather was perfect!
Today I saw 3 women I know, walking the other way. Two women walking toward me, looked at me and didn't say anything. Two women jogging toward me who both said, "Hi". One commuter at the bus stop who completely ignored me like I wasn't even there. One crumpled up piece of thread. One dead cricket (really dead, with it's legs up in the air and everything.)
My Story
(This is going to sound cocky, but I am just writing the highlights.)
In Junior High School a teacher/coach (Mr. Hamblin) told a group of us that he needed some people for the track team. I thought, “I'll try it. It will get me out of class for a while." Little did I know that after trying out all of the different activities (you should have seen little 65 lb me trying to throw the shot...hilarious) I would find that long distance running was the most awesome sport ever!
The first track meet, I won by a long way. I didn't know much about the races. I just knew I wanted to be in the front. When my teacher told me I was pretty good, it made me feel even more excited about running. So, I kept running.My freshman year in H.S. was an eye opener. I found out that I wasn't going to run and just be the best. I still loved it and enjoyed the workouts. (I especially liked that I was better than some of the boys.)
I came in 35th in State in Cross Country that year. I was always worried I would get lost.We never really had a coach for track. The coaches from the other events would help out when they could. We were basically told which direction to run and we would go. Looking back, I wish I had run a little harder during practices.My freshman year in track was awesome! I won a lot of races and enjoyed being with my teammates. I came in 12th in the State that year. And most importantly I beat the school record in the 1600 meter. One race I actually beat everyone by an entire lap. (lucky actually)
That summer my dad took me to my first 10K. I was so scared. It was like cross country all over again, I was afraid I would get lost. It was out in the desert in St. Johns, AZ. (Coronado 10K) My dad said not to worry, that he would be at the end of the race waiting for me.On the last stretch of the race there was a man in front of me who looked really tired. So I tried to beat him. When I got close behind him someone yelled, "It's the first girl!" He looked over his shoulder and immediately started running faster. I can't remember if I passed him or not, but I was so excited to be the first girl it didn't matter.
When I was done I looked all over for my dad but couldn't find him. After about 30 minutes I started to get worried. I finally saw him finish and I went out to meet him. He walked right past me and got sick behind a trailer. For some reason, I thought that was funny. I felt great and he couldn't stand up. Sorry dad.
That was the best 10K I have ever run. I won over all women, and of course, overall in my age group. I was 15 years old.I ran a 42 minute 10K! For anyone who doesn't know what that means, it is an awesome time! Awesome! A 10K is 6.2 miles. I ran 6.7 minute miles per hour!!! That was a great, great day. And the trophies were huge!
My sophomore year was almost the same as my freshman year. (No cross country though. I missed it.) I came in 6th in the State and broke my own school record for the 1600. Also, I finally broke the school record for the 3200 meter.My junior year was great! I won all of the races that Trisha Hoffmaster was not running. I never beat her. It has always been a thorn in my side I guess. I would lead the entire race. She would pull ahead at the 300 mark. I don't know why, but every time it surprised me. No matter how fast I ran she would pass me there. Then in the last 100 I would almost catch her. It was so close that they actually had to ask a 3rd judge to decide the ending of one race. (I guess if I had stuck out my tough or something I could have won...haha)
That year I beat my own school records in the 1600 meter and 3200 meter. I came in a very close 2nd in State. (Only .3 seconds, after Trish of course.) But it was a great year!I have not animosity against Trish now. I don't know where she is and I haven't seen her since the State track meet in 1998, but she was a great runner and I hope she went on to win more races.That summer I was determined that I would not let Trisha ever beat me again. I ran everyday during the summer and even into the fall after school had started. I was feeling really good. My practice times were so good that my father and I thought it would be cool for me to start training for the Olympics in Korea in 1998. (Huge goal, but I was running 13 miles in under 1.5 hours without any training or a coach. So a lofty goal but why not?)
Then in November of my senior year I got really sick. We all thought it was a chest cold and would eventually go away. Well, by the middle of January I was coughing up blood and could hardly stand up. I had been about 90 lbs at the beginning of the summer and by January I was down to about 85 lbs.My parents were finally able to find a Dr. who knew what was wrong. (It was a very small town and we had to travel 4 hours to a doctor.) I had allergy induced asthma. Simple, but if you can't treat it because you don't know what it is, it can kill you. I am very blessed to still be alive! I had collapsed a lung and bruised a kidney from coughing so much. I was only eating bananas, crackers and Sprite.
It took about 3 weeks for me to feel well enough to go back to school. By then it was well into Feb. Track starts in March. I was not even able to walk around a track once, much less run it 4 times for the 1600 meter.
That year, instead of a school record plaque, I got the "Hard Luck Award." I was sick again during awards ceremony, so I missed that too. I was able to go to State as a "water girl" so I could be there with everyone. It was a pity trip, but I loved it. I watched Trish win State the second year in a row.
I was so discouraged, and afraid to try to run, that I didn't run again for about 14 years. My pregnancies were very hard. I spent from 4-6 months until delivery in the bed or hospital. During my second pregnancy my pubic bone broke and I thought I would never walk again without pain.Two and a half years later when I got pregnant with my third child it broke again.When I got pregnant with my fourth child I was ready for the worst. It was another very difficult pregnancy. I spent 6 months in bed and my pubic bone broke again. Earlier this time, so it was a very, very long pregnancy.But, I was determined to be healthy and strong soon after. So I worked with a physical therapist for several months. By the time my child was 6 months old I was at my ideal weight, running and lifting weights every day. I had even learned to roller blade and had run a 10K in SLC, Utah.
Then one day I went for a roller bladding "date" with my husband. I promptly hit a rock, flew into the air, and fell right on the center of a driveway edge in the middle of my tail bone. Needless to say I was in a lot of pain for a long time. I didn't even try to run for several years.
Then, I got pregnant with my 5th child. My pubic bone broke again. My Dr. wasn't sure it would heal this time.Once again I was in bed for about 6 months and thought I would never feel better. I had a C-section and didn't recover very quickly. It took me another 2 years before I tried to run again.All of this time I thought of running every day. I would always smell track in the air around March and it about drove me crazy. I loved watching the "tracksters" out for their runs.
I finally started running again. My goal was to lose 20 lbs, run a few 10K's and run St. George marathon.
Soon I was running 6-8 miles a day, eating right, lifting weights, and working really hard for my goal. I wrote down what I needed to run each week to get ready and paid the fee in May to get on the drawing list.By the end of September I was ready. Really ready. My goal was to run under 4 hours.The day before the race I was rear-ended while taking my kids to the Dr.
I was able to run the race. (I would have gone no matter what anyway.) I ran a 4.27, which I thought was pretty good but I know I could have gone faster. I was worried I would run out of steam and I felt I had to stay with my partner. (My I-pod quit working during the first mile.) whine, whine, whine...At the end of the race I felt great. Too great. That's when I realized I could have pushed myself much harder, at least in the last 3 miles.
The next day I couldn't believe I wasn't sore. I was even ready to go for a walk/run. Then all of the sudden I was walking up the stairs and my shoulders and neck started hurting so bad I couldn't turn my head. I had whiplash. I spend the next 6 months in physical therapy trying to get that better.
Needless to say, I put all 20 lbs back on (for the second time.) Since then I have felt the physical and mental pain of not running.In May, 2006 I found a great running partner. We ran every morning for a while. We even did our own 1/2 marathon and ran a 10K in June. Then, she had to quit running with me in the mornings for personal reasons and scheduling problems. So, I quit running. I got used to running with someone and I had been running in the dark. WIMP! I regret not at least running on my tread mill.
I will think of running every day. Even 20 years after High School I can still smell track in the air.
I went for a run/walk in December and fell and sprained my ankle, bad. I cried for the whole day.
Then in April I ran again. This time I fell, hard, on my knee. It has taken a long time for that to feel better.Yesterday, June 16th, I decided that I couldn't take it anymore. I started running again. I ran 1 mile. It was very hard, but I ran the entire way. I have started again, and this time injuries will not stop me. I will work through them. I will be healthy. I will be strong!
That is my story.(Well, the running part anyway. The rest is just as weird actually. I woke up one morning with a 90% hearing loss, it came back 3 months later. I started stuttering and it stopped a few months later. Now, I shake and fall over. My memory is very, very bad, embarrassing bad. The shaking and falling over has been going on for about 9 months.) I am just cut out for a weird life I guess. You should hear the rest of the story sometime....
About Me
- Just Me
- Sommer and I are sharing this login for a while so she can get some of her own things out there.